The Amazing Pudding

This Ain’t Cheers

Posted on: May 1, 2009

Source: <a href=

Source: Omni Brain

Sometimes you want to go where nobody knows your name.

Wait – wha…?

Yup. Some people just want to be left alone, and that gets hard on the internet.

On Saturday, Red went on his first play date. His playmate’s parents maintain a blog and don’t mind using real names. Red is mentioned by his real name there, but I don’t mind much because I’m only hoping for psuedo-anonymity via obscurity here. The parents of another of Red’s playmates, however, have requested a higher standard of anonymity. Specifically, they have requested that I not use memorable nicknames for them. That’s going to be tricky, though, because that which is hard for strangers to keep track of is also hard for me to maintain. Anyhow, I just wanted to give you, dear readers, a heads up to be on the lookout for weird strings of alphanumeric characters representing other families and their members. For instance, RF, RM, and RS might be what I call the father, mother, and son in family R.

To make this post applicable to Fatherhood Friday, I’d like to open the comments up to discussion of privacy on daddy and mommy blogs. How do you handle privacy? Do you worry about it at all?

Fatherhood Friday

1 Response to "This Ain’t Cheers"

I have tried to keep a lot of details out of my blog that would prevent creepies from finding us. I’m not so worried about my husband and me, or our financial identities, those haven’t been sacred for a long time. But I worry about our toddler. I wouldn’t want someone to find him and know thanks to my sketches and photos, exactly how to get into our house and snatch him. I wouldn’t want people to get from my professional LinkedIn profile to my blog, either. So names stay off the blog. Locations short of vague descriptions stay off the blog. And hopefully, links to other ways to find me stay off the blog. Unfortunately, when I discuss genealogical research, this isn’t always possible. Nor am I perfect at keeping mum about details because sometimes the details make the story.
Good luck.

Leave a Reply

Links? What links?

I can't keep up with blogroll maintenance any more so I've given up. Instead, below you'll find shared links from Google Reader and Delicious. If you read enough of them you should be able to figure out most of the parenting sites I frequent.

RSS Fresh Clippings

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Delicious!

Twitterings

