The Amazing Pudding

Hair Whorls and Handedness

Posted on: January 21, 2009

I’ve known for a while that there’s a correlation between the direction of hair whorling and handedness, i.e., that clockwise whorls are nearly perfectly indicative of being right-handed and counter-clockwise whorls are indicative of left-handedness or ambidexterity in about 50% of cases. Having noticed my son showing some preference for his left hand, such as for sucking his thumb, I was curious to note which direction his whorl goes. Imagine my surprise when I saw that DS has two whorls – one going each direction!

If clockwise means righty and counter-clockwise means lefty or ambidextrous, what does a pair of whorls mean?

Two whorls?!

Anyone know what, if anything, this might be correlated with? Ambidexterity? I did a quick search at Scopus, but I didn’t find much. Counterclockwise whorls are rare, occuring in about 5% of people, and multiple whorls are even rarer. Apparently, that also means research on their significance is also rare. 😦

Pointers to sound research on this would be appreciated. My curiosity is definitely piqued. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Links? What links?

I can't keep up with blogroll maintenance any more so I've given up. Instead, below you'll find shared links from Google Reader and Delicious. If you read enough of them you should be able to figure out most of the parenting sites I frequent.

RSS Fresh Clippings

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Delicious!

Twitterings

